none
Master Page Editing RRS feed

• Question

• I am going to ask this question because I am not an HTML coder. I am hopeful I get a response that does not include just a link to an instruction on how to edit master pages. I am aware of design manager, sharepoint designer, etc. and I have done this a few times.

However, I am in a jam and I just need some help.  I have a customer who is migrating from SP 2010 - SP2016.  They had an SP2010 master page that was customized so that the Global Nav was left justified under the Site Icon.  Even though I have been able to reproduce the CSS for the site and apply an SPCOLOR file that matches the old site exactly and enabled the breadcrumb on the master page, they really want the global nav under site logo and left justified.

I do not want to start with minimal master page and add the site icon and global nav snippets because that is too time consuming and could introduce other issues.  I just want to modify Seattle to change the position of the Global Nav to left justify under the Site Logo.

I can float the Global Nav to the left, but I am unsure how to get it under the Site logo, and maybe this is more about HTML in general rather than Master Page editing.   Normally I would pursue this by myself, but when messing around with master pages I always tread lightly.  Surely this must be something someone else has had to do, and would be able to help me understand the simplest and least disruptive way to do it. 

Thank you in advance for your help

DWM

Thursday, March 30, 2017 3:51 PM

All replies