Cannot send packets for local addresses (one local to another local) through virtual loopback driver, NDIS 5.1 RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to WDD & I am trying to create a loopback driver. I want to create a virtual driver which will perform the following -

I want to have two identical interface with different network address. And I want to send data from one interface to another interface. Whenever I send a packet from interface1 to interface2, instead of calling NdisSendPacket I want to modify the packet and notify the interface1 that send was successful by calling NdisSendComplete indication. At the MPSendPackets function I want to perform some modification like swapping MAC, Net address then put the buffer into new packet, put it in the receiving queue and call the NdisReceiveIndication to inform ndis that a packet was received.

Now the problem is, as the two network is local to computer, the packet does not reaches the MPSendPackets. Instead of calling the function, the system loopbacks it from upper layer, which is not what I want. Is there any way to forcefully send all packets (Including local addresses) through MPSendPackets?

Also it would be helpful if you could verify my concept of loopback driver.

I am using only miniport driver. If the functionality can be done with other driver like - ID, TDI please let me know.

Thank you in advance & sorry for my English.

Thursday, March 17, 2011 4:15 AM

Answers

• Somehow I managed to do this later on NDIS 6.20.

You can indicate the loopback packet iff -

1. ip checksum ok (recalculate)

2. udp/ tcp checksum ok (recalculate)

3. indicating up the packets

I think this is a dead topic, still though I should share the general process.

regards,

fadedreamz
    • Marked as answer by fadedreamz Wednesday, September 28, 2011 7:05 AM
    Wednesday, September 28, 2011 7:05 AM

All replies