Custom Activities RRS feed

• Question

• I am a WF beginner and have some question about creating custom activities.

From some examples I am noticing that there are two parts to an activity: the UI and the code.  The Activity Designer Library is used to develiop the UI and the Activity Library project type is used to develop the code for the activity.  Am I correct ?

When creating a custom basic activity which class should I derive from: CodeActivity, NativeActivity?  What are their differences?

Thanks

Chris

Tuesday, June 22, 2010 1:10 PM

Answers

• Hello Chris -

To your first question: Yes, the different project types are for the activity itself and the related designer (the UI). Activities are not strictly required to have a designer (for example, if the workflows are only being authored/edited via code or XAML).

To your second question: You would derive from CodeActivity/AsyncCodeActivity if you are going to only implement the execute method for the activity - and the work that it performs can be done in a single method, or composed of other activities.

If you need to implement your own control flow activity that performs its own scheduling you would use NativeActivity. It allows you to schedule other activities, propagate errors, handle cancelation, etc. The learning curve for NativeActivity is higher.

You may find the following blog post from my colleagues to be useful on this subject: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/flow/archive/2010/01/24/lights-camera-activities-windows-workflow-foundation-s-activity-model.aspx

Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:29 PM

All replies

• Hello Chris -

To your first question: Yes, the different project types are for the activity itself and the related designer (the UI). Activities are not strictly required to have a designer (for example, if the workflows are only being authored/edited via code or XAML).