none
Securing Services and Operations RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to WCF.  I have set up a Service UserService.  At the moment I use a <userNameAuthentication>  which is a UserNamePasswordValidator to secure the service.  Once a user logs in, I also assign a token to be passed in the header to make sure that user is only trying to access data that they are allowed too.   Recently, there are some functions in the UserService, that do not require the user to be authenticated. 

Is there a way to have parts of the service require authentication and other operations that do not?  What is the proper way to allow this type of control over a service in WCF?

Thank you

Wednesday, January 27, 2016 6:47 PM

All replies

• Maybe you need to services.
    Thursday, January 28, 2016 1:49 AM
  • Hi alz0id,

According to your description, in my understanding is that you want to set the authorization

for different roles.

As far as I know, we can set the PrincipalPermission in our service.

For more information, please refer to the following links:

1.WCF - Authentication and Authorization in Enterprise Architecting

2.Custom Authorization in WCF

If I miss understood your question, please let me know.

=========================================================

This response contains two reference to a third party World Wide Web site. Microsoft is

providing this information as a convenience to you. Microsoft does not control these

sites and has not tested any software or information found on these sites; therefore,

Microsoft cannot make any representations regarding the quality, safety, or suitability

of any software or information found there. There are inherent dangers in the use of any

software found on the Internet, and Microsoft cautions you to make sure that you

completely understand the risk before retrieving any software from the Internet.

Hope it helps.

Best Regards,

Wanjun Dong