none
C# 2015 - DataGridViewCellFormatting event ok on form load, but not working properly on textchange event RRS feed

• Question

• Hello guys,

Greetings from Brazil!  I'm a beginner programmer developing a Visual Studio 2015 C# WinForms database application with MySQL.

I have a DataGridViewCellFormatting event on the form and it works perfectly when the form loads, but when the DataGridView is updated triggered by a TextChanged event to search for records, the cell formatting event doesn't work properly anymore.

If the value of column 4 is negative, than the row forecolor should be red and if the value is positive the row forecolor should be blue, as it happens when the form loads

Here's my code:

private void caixaDataGridView_CellFormatting(object sender, DataGridViewCellFormattingEventArgs e)
            {
                caixaDataGridView.RowsDefaultCellStyle.BackColor = Color.White;
                caixaDataGridView.AlternatingRowsDefaultCellStyle.BackColor = Color.LightGray;

try
                {
                    decimal valor = Convert.ToDecimal(bremi691_appDataSet.caixa.Rows[e.RowIndex]["valor"]);

if (valor < 0)
                    {
                        e.CellStyle.ForeColor = Color.Red;
                    }
                    else
                    {
                        e.CellStyle.ForeColor = Color.Blue;
                    }
                }
                catch (Exception)
                {
                }
            }

And for the TextChanged event:

private void txtSearch_TextChanged(System.Object sender, System.EventArgs e)
            {
                try
                {
                    if (cboColumn.Text == "Nome")
                    {
                        caixaBindingSource.Filter = string.Format("nome LIKE '{0}%'", txtSearch.Text);
                    }

if (cboColumn.Text == "Tipo")
                    {
                        caixaBindingSource.Filter = string.Format("tipo LIKE '{0}%'", txtSearch.Text);