How do I bind an accessdatasource to a repeater? should be simple but not working! RRS feed

• Question

• User1595815895 posted

Hi Im new to asp.net 

I cant seem to get this simple thing to work

I have my repeater setup and used the smart task to link it to my access database but when I run it i get this error

Error    4    'System.Data.DataRowView' does not contain a definition for 'toString' and no extension method 'toString' accepting a first argument of type 'System.Data.DataRowView' could be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)    C:\Users\Andy\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\WebSites\messageboard\Default2.aspx.cs    58  

Here is my page code what am I doing wrong:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head runat="server">
        <title>Untitled Page</title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <form id="form1" runat="server">
        <div>
            <asp:Repeater ID="Repeater1" runat="server" DataSourceID="AccessDataSource1">
            <HeaderTemplate>
                <table border="0" cellpadding="3" >
                    <tr>
                        <th>category</th>
                        <th>Threads</th>
                        <th>Posts</th>
                        <th>LastName</th>  
                    </tr>               
            </HeaderTemplate>

<ItemTemplate>
                  <tr>
                      <td></td>
                      <td></td>  
                      <td></td>
                      <td></td>
                  </tr>  
            </ItemTemplate>   

<FooterTemplate>
                </table>
            </FooterTemplate>   
            </asp:Repeater>
            <asp:AccessDataSource ID="AccessDataSource1" runat="server"
                DataFile="~/App_Data/mbbase.mdb" SelectCommand="SELECT * FROM [mb_category]">
            </asp:AccessDataSource>