How to use WF4 in code with WCF Service RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Guys

I am new to WF and need some help in the right direction. I want to use WF in code but still expose it trough WCF servcies. I cant find any good documentation on the subject...

I usually create a servciehost project to host my .svc file in IIS. In the markup I point to my code library where I have my functions...this works great for my WCF services but I am not getting this to work properly with WF..this is my markup in svc file:

<%@ ServiceHost Language="C#" Debug="true" Service="WF_SetviceTest.Activities.SendRequest.cs" Factory="System.ServiceModel.Activation.WorkflowServiceHostFactory" %>

but i always get the following error message when I try to view in browser:

WorkflowServiceHostFactory cannot resolve the constructor string 'WF_SetviceTest.Activities.SendRequest.cs' to a  workflow type. The constructor string must contain either a name of the *.xoml file or a CLR type name of the workflow service type. 

I know I am missing something....but what..

Can any of you point me in the right direction for documentation on the issue??

Regards

Wednesday, June 2, 2010 9:52 AM

Answers

• Hi hekla,

You certainly can host WF code activity as a service through svc file. There are 2 issues in your svc file:

1) I think you used wrong factory class. System.ServiceModel.Activation.WorkflowServiceHostFactory is for WF 3.5. You can still use it in .Net 4, but it only recognize WF 3.5 activities.

If you want to host WF4 service, please use System.ServiceModel.Activities.Activation.WorkflowServiceHostFactory

2) The service attribute should be set with the activity type name instead of .cs file name.

I've tried and it works pretty well to me. Please let me know if it does not work for you:)

thanks

Anders

This posting is provided "AS IS" and confers no rights or warranties.
    Friday, June 4, 2010 8:36 AM

All replies