The following forum(s) have migrated to Microsoft Q&A (Preview): Azure Active Directory!
Visit Microsoft Q&A (Preview) to post new questions.

Learn More

domain verification...twice... RRS feed

• Question

• Patience with a total newbie here please. I added our domain name to Azure, verified, all was well. NOTE HERE - we also have an O365 subscription that is NOT connected to our Azure subscription (found this out later) and also added our domain name to O365, verified and all is well.

I’m trying to integrate our AD with Azure. Ran the connector, all the users showed up in O365 but not Azure. - this is another problem I’m going to work with MS on.  Problem now...I deleted our domain name from Azure (not a good idea, I know) and am now trying to add it back but am getting “can not verify the domain’.  I ran across this post: https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/azure/en-US/8dfae0c7-eb4e-48dd-a548-fe29a88304a0/verify-custom-domain?forum=windowsazurewebsitespreview which states you cannot add the same domain in different microsoft services AT PRESENT.  Is this still true? If so, it states to remove and update the DNS records to be able to use in Azure. Is the person saying the txt record for the O365 verification needs to be removed? And would the first Azure txt record need to be removed also?
    Friday, October 30, 2015 4:14 PM

All replies

• I'm not sure how you were able to verify the same internet DNS domain name with multiple Office 365 tenants. It is my understanding that this is not possible, so maybe there is a miscommunication somewhere.

You don't have to delete the DNS records, but you should note, they aren't needed after the domain is verified, so I'd clean them up anyway.

I'm not sure what Azure record you're talking about. Every Office 365 tenant comes with an Azure AD element with a default subscription, so these are really one and the same.

Mike Crowley | MVP
    My Blog -- Baseline Technologies

Friday, October 30, 2015 4:19 PM
  • Hi,