foreign keys question RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I am still new at SQL... As I was creating a database I noticed that some databases set up foreign keys during the creation portion.

CREATE

TABLE USERS (

user_id SMALLINT NOT NULL identity (1,1),

user_name

VARCHAR(50),

department_id SMALLINT NOT NULL ,

FOREIGN

KEY (department_ID) references DEPARTMENTS,

primary

key (user_id )

)

Why should you define a foreign Key during creation? When you are querying you can link the tables together without defining the foreign keys at design without any errors.

select

department_name,

from

user_name

departments cross join users

-- No errors - with this table the foreign key was not defined in the design of the table, and there were no errors.

If this is the case what is the point of defineing the foreign key

Bryan Revelant
    Friday, January 6, 2012 2:58 PM

Answers

• The primary key and foreign keys are fundamental concepts for the relational database theory. You may want to educate yourself a little bit on this topic

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foreign_key

For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert. - Becker's Law

My blog
    • Marked as answer by Kalman Toth Friday, January 6, 2012 5:12 PM
    Friday, January 6, 2012 3:03 PM
  • Bryan,

If you do a CROSS JOIN, yes, sure, you don't need a foreign key.

The CROSS JOIN will simply return all possible combinations of DEPARTMENTS and USERS.

But if you need to know which USER are in which DEPARTMENTS, then you need a foreign key.

• Edited by Sygrien Friday, January 6, 2012 3:06 PM
    • Proposed as answer by Naomi N Friday, January 6, 2012 3:06 PM
    Friday, January 6, 2012 3:05 PM
  • I am not sure i got your Question completely.

Foreign Keys are defined to have data integrity(referential integrity) in the system.

It does not matter if you define foreign key during the creation of table or after creating the table.the purpose is same.