(TS) Property 'X' does not exist on Type 'Y' when moved from index.cshtml to a TS file RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to web app development, and am therefore feeling my way through it all based on a lot of reading and test apps.  I am running Visual Studio 2019 Community on a Windows 10 laptop, trying to create an Asp.NET Core MVC app. 

I added some <script> code to the index.cshtml file and invoked it from the html code.  That worked as expected.  But when I moved that same code (absent the <script> tags) to a TypeScript file I added to a "scripts" folder in the project, references to the event.target.result and .errorCode properties as well as to the getElementById('x').value property were flagged as "does not exist".   

Any idea what I am missing.

Thanks.  Steve

Tuesday, May 19, 2020 8:45 PM

Answers

• Hi Steve,

Welcome to MSDN forum.

In order to investigate this issue further, can you share me the code in the index.cshtml file? You can have a look at the similar issue and hope it helps.

BTW, since our forum focus on Visual Studio IDE related issues, this issue is more about code development. You can also report it to the ASP.NET Core forum. Thanks for your understanding.

Hoping everything goes well.

Best Regards,

Anna 

MSDN Community Support Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com

• Marked as answer by Cincy Steve Wednesday, May 20, 2020 2:03 PM
    Wednesday, May 20, 2020 3:27 AM
  • Hi Steve,

Since the principle of our forum is that a post only discusses one issue, if you have other issue about Visual Studio IDE, please restart a new thread for a better support. Thanks for your understanding.

Have a nice day.

Sincerely,

Anna