Bluetooth LE Metro App

Question

• I'm trying to make a metro style app that talks to Bluetooth LE (4.0) devices. I found the sample app with heart rate, blood pressure and thermometer, and I also tried making my own heart rate app, but neither work.

In the sample app, I get this output:

"Getting the device failed with error: 80070057"

What does this mean?

In my own app (see code below), I get a type mismatch error in the deviceFactory.getDeviceFromIdAsync() method.

I'm new to Windows programming, so these errors don't tell me much.

Note 1: The device is found by Windows in the Devices page, and I am able to read the device name in my app.

Note 2: I am using a Nordic Semiconductor kit (not TI).

Windows.Devices.Enumeration.DeviceInformation.findAllAsync("System.Devices.InterfaceClassGuid:=\"{0000180D-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}\"", null).
                        done(function foundAllAsync(devices) {
                            try{
                                var deviceFactory = new ActiveXObject("PortableDeviceAutomation.Factory");
                                var newDevice = devices[0];
                                var id = newDevice.id;
                                deviceFactory.getDeviceFromIdAsync(id, 
                                    function gotDevice (device) {  },
                                    null
                                );
                            }
                            catch (e) {
                                log(e.toString());
                                for (var prop in e) {
                                    log(prop + ": " + e[prop]);
                                }
                            }
                        }
                    );

Monday, June 25, 2012 2:17 PM

Answers

All replies

• Ronningstad,

I will look into this for you.

Best Wishes - Eric

Monday, June 25, 2012 3:28 PM
  • Ronningstad,