none
convert from decimal(base-10) to alphanumeric(base-36) RRS feed

• Question

• I need to do a program by console, for convert a number base 10 to base 36, I tried to search and I found that one: https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/vstudio/en-US/5babf71f-4375-40aa-971a-21c1f0b9762b/convert-from-decimalbase10-to-alphanumericbase36?forum=csharpgeneral,

but this dosn't help me, I need to copy it and paste it, because I'm new in C# and I need the program for my teacher, anyone can do it and explain it? 

Tuesday, December 5, 2017 8:20 AM

All replies

•  private static string ToBase36(ulong value)
            {
                const string base36 = "0123456789ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ";
                var sb = new StringBuilder(13);
                do
                {
                    sb.Insert(0, base36[(byte)(value % 36)]);
                    value /= 36;
                } while (value != 0);
                return sb.ToString();
            }

Ashish Pandey

Tuesday, December 5, 2017 10:16 AM
  • Hello ChristopherCC,

Few days ago I have met the question need to be solved by conversion base-10 and base-36. You will find what you want in the below link.

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/vstudio/en-US/8a396bc7-4a82-4831-8b4d-bce272068246/

As for how to understand it, you will find a lot of explanation in the internet as long as you do some search job. And there is a good explanation about converting from decimal to hexadecimal.

https://www.wikihow.com/Convert-from-Decimal-to-Hexadecimal

Best regards,

Neil Hu