none
I need help with a VB Application RRS feed

• Question

• I need help with building an application and I am on a tight deadline.  Below I have included the specifics for what I need the application to do as well as the code that I have completed so far.  I am having trouble getting the data input into the text fields to save to a .txt file.  Also, I need validation to ensure that the values entered into the text fields coincide with the field type.  I am new to VB so please be gentle.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanx

•I need to use the OpenFileDialog and SaveFileDialog in my application.
    •Also, I need to use a structure.

1. The application needs to prompt the user to enter the file name on Form_Load.

2. Also, the app needs to use the AppendText method to write the Employee Data to the text file. My project should allow me to write multiple Employee Data to the same text file.  The data should be written to the text file in the following format (comma delimited)

FirstName, MiddleName, LastName, EmployeeNumber, Department, Telephone, Extension, Email

3. The Department dropdown menu DropDownStyle property should be set so that the user cannot enter inputs that are not in the menu.

Public Class Form1
        Dim filename As String
        Dim oFile As System.IO.File
        Dim oWrite As System.IO.StreamWriter
        Dim openFileDialog1 As New OpenFileDialog()
        Dim fileLocation As String
        Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
            openFileDialog1.InitialDirectory = "c:\"
            openFileDialog1.Filter = "Text files (*.txt)|*.txt|All files (*.*)|*.*"
            openFileDialog1.FilterIndex = 1
            openFileDialog1.RestoreDirectory = True
            If openFileDialog1.ShowDialog() = System.Windows.Forms.DialogResult.OK Then
                fileLocation = openFileDialog1.FileName
            End If