Problem installing Small Basic on the same computer for multiple users RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a high school teacher who wants to use SmallBasic as the programming language in my introductory course, starting in September. I have several sections of this course.

I went to my school to try things out, and everything worked well (SmallBasic installed and ran)  when I logged on to a computer with a particular user id (tstudent) for the first time.  A problem arose when I then logged off tstudent and subsequently logged on the same computer as a different user.  I clicked on the Small Basic shortcut, and the installation process began but encountered an error:  it could not write to  the folder  "...tstudent\SmallBasic\Samples" (i.e., the folder created for the first user, tstudent), and the installation was not successful.

I have spoken with the school's network administrator and he is trying to figure out how to get around this problem.  HELP!!

Evelyn Rothman

Thursday, August 6, 2009 3:49 PM

Answers

• SmallBasic.msi version 0.9 does not ask if it wants to be installed for all users or a specific user during install, it simply defaults to the current users.

The trick is to tell the installer to advertise smallbasic to all usrs.  That's to install it using msiexec /jm [path]smallbasic.msi

(This has been tested on Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 but the /jm switch goes back to MSI version 1 in Windows 2000)

• Marked as answer by litdev Wednesday, October 13, 2010 8:08 PM
    Monday, August 16, 2010 2:17 PM

All replies

• Hi Evelyn,

What Operating system do you use?
    During installation, on Select Installation Folder dialog, do you choose Everyone or Just me?
    And what kind of permission / which user group do the students have on the machine?