My program just keeps crashing when i click a textbox! HELP! RRS feed

• Question

• Hi to everybody. I'm new to programming and I want to test my knowledge by making my sister a simple math game. However, there's a problem that doesn't let me go further than the main screen.

After the main screen, I want a screen to appear and ask for the user's name. If the name is "Diana" (my sister's name), it will go to easy difficulty of the game. If the name is not Diana (because it was typed by someone else in the house), then it will go to hard mode. I designed the background in Photoshop and i want the texbox to appear in top of it. this is the code I wrote for that part:

GraphicsWindow.FontName = "ComicSans MS"
    GraphicsWindow.FontSize = 12
    namebox = Controls.AddMultiLineTextBox(20, 278)

But when I click on the textbox so that i can type in it... It crashes! Why?

EDIT: I have windows seven starter... if that helps.
    • Edited by norik434 Friday, May 20, 2011 11:27 PM
    Friday, May 20, 2011 10:56 PM

Answers

• Ok, thanks for the code. 

First I deleted the initial image loading (I don't have your images and they probably aren't the problem).

I then deleted the welcome messages they look OK.

I also got rid of the font setting, again we know this works by itself.

We are left with:

GraphicsWindow.MouseDown = OnMouseDown

Sub OnMouseDown
      GraphicsWindow.MouseMove = name
    EndSub

Sub name
    EndSub

This causes the crash!

So what is the problem - the OnMouseDown subroutine is called on an event thread - a separate process started when the mouse is clicked - this process (or thread) is only active while this subroutine (OnMouseDown) is called - when this subroutine ends this thread is lost.  However during this short new thread you register a new event based on MouseMove.  When the OnMouseDown ends the MouseMove event (Sub name) is somehow left dangling (registered on a thread that no longer exists).  A bit complicated I know, but there its is.