WinQual bucket ID meaning RRS feed

• Question

• How does the WinQual generate the bucket ID? What's the meaning of the bucket ID? Does it represent the stack info? Could someone give me an example about this? When there is a crash, what files (info) get send to WinQual? I am new to the WER and WinQual.Thanks.
    • Moved by Max Wang_1983 Tuesday, April 26, 2011 5:19 PM forum consolidation (From:Windows Error Reporting for ISVs)
    Thursday, November 8, 2007 11:53 PM

Answers

• YCY,

BucketID is an internal term.  On the WinQual portal, you'll see it as "EventID."  It's generated by WATSON when a new report comes in.  Identity-seeded Primary Key on each of the tables (Crash32, Crash64, Generic)

The Bucket itself is based on the following:

1) Application Name

2) Application Version

3) Module Name

4) Module Version

5) Offset

6) Exception Code

If the user has opted in, then initially, that's all that gets transmitted to us.  Watson might then ask for cab files, if the ISV has put the Event into capture mode.  Stack information (such as it is) will be contained in any cabs collected.  Once you've mapped, you can pull the cabs down and run Windows Debugger on them for stack data.

Feel free to reply to this board, or contact me directly.  I'm Partner Outreach for ISVs on the WER Portal, so I'm your best starting point.

b

Friday, November 9, 2007 8:37 PM

All replies

• YCY,

BucketID is an internal term.  On the WinQual portal, you'll see it as "EventID."  It's generated by WATSON when a new report comes in.  Identity-seeded Primary Key on each of the tables (Crash32, Crash64, Generic)

The Bucket itself is based on the following:

1) Application Name

2) Application Version

3) Module Name

4) Module Version

5) Offset

6) Exception Code