NXT-MSRS question... RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi,

I'm new to MSRS and NXT.  My first project is to create a simple program to read a input from the computer and send the command to the NXT robot.

Here are my questions:

- After I send the power, degree, stopstate parameter to the NXT motor (v2), it doesn't stop and keep rotating with a pulse.  What did I do wrong?  I specifically put the "motorstopstate.brake" in the stopstate attribute but no help.

- How can I build a executable from MVPL?  All it builds is "service".  I don't know how to excute it outside MVPL.

- Can I go further to build a web inteface?

You help is greatly appreciate!

Thanks!

DDT

Tuesday, September 30, 2008 7:27 PM

Answers

• As far as being responsive, you have to realise that VPL is talking to the LEGO NXT over Bluetooth, so there is some delay. I assume that when you say using "the Lego NXT program" you are referring to a program running directly on the brick, which will of course be much faster.

To compile a service from VPL you just need to select the Compile As a Service option. Before you do that however, check the properties on the diagram itself and make sure that you have specified where you want the output files to go.

When you compile a VPL diagram as a service, VPL writes C# code and then compiles it for you. Once it is compiled, it should show up in the Services panel and you can use it from another VPL diagram. However, if you edit the C# code and change it, then you cannot import it back into VPL. So just be aware that if you start making changes to the C# code you can no longer use VPL to help you. Also, the generated code is human-readable, but it might be a little difficult to understand because it is generated by a computer :-)

Trevor

Wednesday, October 1, 2008 6:12 PM