none
Preventing duplicate records RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to create a database for a school. I have a form, frmSchoolYears and a subform, frmYearClassesSubform for the purpose of entering data to create new classes for a school year. The data is to be entered in a table called tblYearClasses. In the subform the data is to be entered with three combo boxes: cboSchoolYearID, cboClassCode, cboStaffID

The corresponding fields in the table are: SchoolYearID, ClassCode, StaffID. The data types are Long Integer, Short Text and Long Integer respectively. The intention is to have only unique combinations of the three fields in the table. I am informed that this could be done using code in the form's BeforeUpdate event. I will like someone to give me the code that will do this. If the combination already exist I will like the code to give a message to the user and prevent the update. Thank you in advance for any help given.

Gordon

Thursday, July 13, 2017 10:53 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Gordon Swan,

You could create an unique constraint on the three fields, so combinations of the three fields will be unique and when you try to insert/update a duplicate records, you will get an error warning. We could use Form Error event to catch the error and customize it.

Here is the example for setting unique constraint and code in Error Event.

Private Sub Form_Error(DataErr As Integer, Response As Integer)

If DataErr = 3022 Then

Response = acDataErrContinue

MsgBox "Current Data Combination exists!"

End If

End Sub

You could refer to below links for more information.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/5635811/unique-constraint-on-multiple-fields-in-access-2003

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/13258494/how-can-i-have-a-custom-message-for-a-duplicate-key-entered-in-a-form

Best Regards,

Terry

• Marked as answer by Gordon Swan Friday, July 21, 2017 3:32 PM
    Friday, July 14, 2017 3:11 AM