none
Reactive Extension with TreeListView RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

Are there any Examples which can help me with how I can use Reactive extensions with TreeListViewControls in MVVM - I'm new to Reactive extension and any suggestions will be of great help..

Thanks,

Friday, February 28, 2014 7:44 PM

Answers

• There are some things in RX that may help you get started, one of them is the Subject class.  A Subject class allow an Observer to Subscribe very easily.  In addition the Subject class strangely support the Observable code as well.  It's a combination of both the IObserver and IObservable pattern.

What does it look like?  (This is from memory)...

public class MyClassContainingASubject {
    public static Subject<string> MySubject = new Subject<String>();
    //This method notifies subscribers to MySubject that something has arrived.
    public void SomeMethod(){
    foreach(var str in GetAllStrings()){
      MySubject.OnNext(str);
    }}}

//But how do other classes subscribe to this?
    MyClassContainingASubject.MySubject.Subscribe(p=>{

//The value of P contains the string like this
      var str = p;
      TreeNode tn = new TreeNode();
      tn.Header = str;
    });

None of the code above was tested....beware!

Check out this excellent site on RX...

http://www.introtorx.com/

There are two people I know of that explain RX excellently, Lee Campbell and Dave Sexton. Dave used to hang out in the RX Forum and has some code over at CodePlex. 

JP Cowboy Coders Unite!

Saturday, March 1, 2014 3:23 AM

All replies

• The Reactive Extensions (Rx) is a library for composing asynchronous and event-based programs using observable sequences and LINQ-style query operators. There are some good learning resources available here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/data/gg577609.aspx