FlatFile Schemas with (Invalid?) XML RRS feed

• Question

• Hello. I'm completely new to BizTalk. I just completed a course on the basics, and I'm experimenting with some real-world stuff now. I'm looknig at a vendor file layout that I'm not sure how to handle. There are two issues:

1. It's flat-file data with embedded XML. That is, they have an XML schema, but there are many (sometimes up to 600) XML documents in a single text file. Before each report there is a one-line positional header.

2. The XML schema is technically valid, but not in Visual Studio. I figured out that two node names have dashes, and need to be renamed with underscores.

My questions are as follows:

1. How can I create a BizTalk schema based on this? Any examples in the training were either XML, flat-file or EDI, not a mixture. Do I just use the XML schema and somehow specify that there are multiple instances? or do I create a header schema for the flat-file header, and then use the existing XML schema?

2. What about the invalid node names? If I rename the nodes, they'll never match the incoming data, but if I don't rename them, the schema is invalid.

Has anyone encountered this before? If so, I would love to know your thoughts on this. Thanks!

Monday, May 2, 2011 10:56 AM

Answers

• Hi,

You need to write a custom pipeline component to do some preprocessing on the incoming message. You then use the pipeline component in a custom pipeline in a receive location. The pipeline compont should:

- remove the dashes from the xml node names

- remove the non xml stuff from the file and enclose it in a root tag.
      or
      disassemble the xml parts from the file into seperate messages.

This is probably not the easiest thing to do, especially if you're new to BizTalk. So another option would be to ask the vendor to deliver valid and well formed XML instead of the file you get now.

HTH,

Randal van Splunteren 2 x MVP BizTalk Server, MCTS BizTalk Server
    my blog