Count as percentage of self with detail RRS feed

• Question

• Hello. I created a measure that counts something. Then when I add another layer of detail in powerpivot it shows the correct information, but how do I get a % of Total when it's broken down at additional detail? For example, I have year first, then i add year by trade, how can I get a % of total for the year? 
    Wednesday, September 14, 2016 11:27 PM

Answers

• You can establish all kinds of totals and subtotals by playing around with different ALL functions.

In your case, ALL(Claims) removes all filters from the Claims table, resulting in [Claims with Cashouts] for all claims (if [Claims with Cashouts] itself filters the Claims table in some way, e.g. for removing claims without cashouts, that filter will be preserved as is it set after ALL(Claims) was applied).

The total for a year can in many case be derived by not removing a filter on year. So if you have a [Year] column in Claims, you could use

ALLEXCEPT(Claims, Claims[Year])

to remove all filters on Claims except a filter on the year column. This would result in the total by year. Keep in mind, however, that the ALL functions only remove filters, not introduce new ones; so if your output does not filter on the [Year] column, you would end up with the overall total again. This happens in e.g. a pivot table where you have a column [MonthYear] in the row labels, or simply [Date].

The best way to address this is to introduce a new filter that sets the year to whatever year(s) were present in the current context. This can be done with the VALUES function. So

TotalClaimsByYear:= CALCULATE([Claims with Cashouts], ALLEXCEPT(Claims, Claims[Year]), VALUES(Claims[Year]))

If you have [Year] in a separate table like Dates, it works quite the same:

TotalClaimsByYear:= CALCULATE([Claims with Cashouts], ALLEXCEPT(Dates, Dates[Year]), VALUES(Dates[Year]))

although you may want to remove other filters from the Claims table here as well.