none
Includes on Entity Framework Entities and their performance RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.

I have been working with EF for several months now, and just found out few bugs/features that hold me back.

I have following model:

My goal here is to load entity A with all the others included in "real time".

But whatever I try, I end up with results that do not satisfy me. Especialy when I scale up this problem with adding few more entities to it, which is the case in my work project.

Few weeks ago I found out that SQL commands created by EF change a lot depending on whether referential constraints are set or not on 1-0..1 and 1..1 associations. So there are 4 possibilities how to set those associations(A<->B, B<->BPlus)

I am working with object queries so my request to DB looks like this

context.ASet.Include("B").Include("B.C").Include("B.BPlus").ToArray();

Option 1: No referential constraints set.

resulting SQL command has 10 outer joins and 7 of them are joining B entity and 2 are joining BPlus entity, and last one is joining C entity. So instead of three joins I get 10. Which scaled up ends in unmanagable SQL query which has unreal time damands.

Option 2: A<->B has referential constraint set with A as Principal, B<->BPlus has no referential constraint set

resulting SQL command has 9 outer joins. 6 joining B entity, 2 for BPlus and one for C

Option 3: A<->B has referential constraint, B<->BPlus has referential constraint with B as Principal

SQL command has "only" 7 joins now(but still 4 more than needed). 3 of which are for B entity, 3 for BPlus and one for C entity.

Option 4: A<->B has no referential constraint set, B<->BPlus has referential constraint with B as Principal

SQL command has 9 joins again. 4 for B entity, 4 for BPlus entity and one for C entity.

I can supply the sql commands if anyone is interested, or you can try it on your own.

Can someone tell me how to force EF to create optimal queries or is it impossible?