Drawing just one pixel RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all, I'm just getting into XNA, and all I want to do at this point is create an object that will basically just represent one pixel on the screen, with a variable for RGB color that can be modified easily. Then I can simply draw the pixel to the screen, and change it's color if need be.

Any help is appreciated.
    Saturday, October 21, 2006 6:51 PM

Answers

• That's actually not as simple as it seems... You would have to work the shaders.

I would suggest first trying to render a sprite or a 3D object like a cube... Then maybe have it move around any way you like.

Saturday, October 21, 2006 7:58 PM
  • XNA is a wrapper for Direct3D, so drawing a single pixel isn't actually the easiest thing in the world. Direct3D (like all hardware accelerated graphics systems) ultimately works in terms of triangles, so eventually, anything you want to draw has to be turned into one or more triangles. To draw a single pixel, you'll have to set up a tiny triangle in just the right place, which is possible but not exactly very fast if you're planning on drawing a lot of pixels! To get good performance, you generally want to be thinking in terms of larger objects like sprites or triangle meshes, rather than just single pixels.

That said, if you do need to draw just one pixel, probably the easiest way is to create a texture that is solid white, then use SpriteBatch to draw this with the destination rectangle parameter specifying to stretch the texture over just one pixel.
    Saturday, October 21, 2006 7:59 PM
  • Depending on how many you want to draw you can checkout how I did the stars in the spacewar Retro version. Its a vertex buffer that uses Points as primitives.
    Saturday, October 21, 2006 9:24 PM

All replies

• That's actually not as simple as it seems... You would have to work the shaders.

I would suggest first trying to render a sprite or a 3D object like a cube... Then maybe have it move around any way you like.