none
Error moving from VS 2013 to VS 2015

Question

• I'm fairly new to programming and taking over a program that was originally written in 2010, migrated to 2013, and I'm trying to move to 2015. I've successfully moved similar applications to 2015 just by opening the App in 2015, doing a clean, rebuild - and I'm set. For this specific application, I'm able to build and run the application without issue. However, specific forms will not open - all with the same error:

"Could not find type '<App>.<DataSource>.<SP_SelectTableAdapater>'. Please make sure that the assembly that contains this type is referenced. If this type is part of your development project, make sure that the project has been successfully built using settings for your current platform or Any CPU.

Instances of this error (1)
    1. There is no stack trace or error line information available for this error.

Help with this error
    Could not find an associated help topic for this error. Check Windows Forms Design-Time error list
    "

The SP will vary, depending on the form - but the error is the same. I'm able to browse through the DataSource and find the SP and the SelectTableAdapter, preview data and it works. If I go to the code where it references the error, it doesn't identify any issues (in fact, it auto-populates the code if I try to recreate it). If I close the app and open it in Visual Studio 2013 - it works fine (forms open as normal).  I've checked all the project settings (frame work, namespaces, etc) - everything is identical between 2013 and 2015. Any help/guidance is most appreciated.

Thank you!

Thursday, September 08, 2016 12:46 PM

Answers

• I downloaded VS 17RC in hopes that the issue would be fixed there, but it wasn't. However, I found a solution.

I removed the offending DataSource and then recreated it within Visual Studio 17RC. I then cleaned/built the project and the form was able to open without issue.

Monday, November 28, 2016 2:58 PM

All replies

• Hi Matt,