none
SSMS as a remoteapp keeps disappearing on query execute or database change RRS feed

• Question

• Our RDS is hosted on a Win2012 R2 (current with updates) VM in a data center, and we publish apps for remote workers - Dynamics AX, SSMS, third party apps, etc.  VM has 48 GB RAM, SSDs, Xeon procs, etc , and I believe is configured properly for RDS best practice.

When using SSMS (17.5) as a remoteapp, the app itself disappears when I either change databases in the database listbox, or execute a query.  The app disappears, but you can still see a box outline of the app itself, and I have to click on the screen for the app to reappear. This happens for users that are remote or on the corporate network. For remote users, there is no VPN in play.

I am not sure if this is SSMS or RDS issue, as this is my first time dealing with remoteapps/RDS, so I thought i'd start with SQL side.

Any ideas if this is known issue/expected for SSMS as a remoteapp?

Monday, February 19, 2018 7:25 PM

All replies

• Hi Greg Y,

We also use SSMS 17.5 as a remote app, we used Remote Desktop Connection Manager (RDCMan) to connect to the remote virtual machine. It works well on this machine.

I tested it with Remote Desk Service (RDS) and did not meet a similar problem. I suggest you using RDCMan to connect to it for test, if it works normally, this can be a problem of the incompatibility between SSMS and RDS or some other application.

Besides, what about using SSMS of other versions? Does it work normally in your scenario?

Best Regards,

Teige

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 9:31 AM
  • Did you ever crack this? We have exactly the same problem.