none
Relationship between Style.LinkToListTemplate, ListLevelNumber and ListTemplate? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am studying the Word object model for VBA. And for Style object, I get confused on the following method and properties:

Style.LinkToListTemplate (It seems to attach and apply a style to a list template)

Style.ListLevelNumber (It seems that each style has a fixed list level number)

Style.ListTemplate (It seems that a list template is attached to a style. Then why there will need such a method LinkToListTemplate to attach a style back to a list template?)

I just write a small VBA code as follows:

Dim MyListTemplate As ListTemplate

Dim MyStyle As Style

Set MyStyle = ActiveDocument.Styles.Item(1)

Set MyListTemplate = MyStyle.ListTemplate

MyStyle.LinkToListTemplate (MyListTemplate)

It will get the ListTemplate in the MyStyle, then try to call LinkToListTemplate to re-attach the MyStyle to MyListTemplate. But the final statement will raise an error “Object does not support the method”. Don’t understand why.

Friday, October 12, 2018 6:43 AM

All replies

• Hi chcw,

ListTemplate is a property of Style, so it can't be a Variable type. You should delete this line 'Dim MyListTemplate As ListTemplate'.

Please use the code as below:

Sub getListTemplate()
        Dim MyStyle As Style
    End Sub

For more information, please review the following link:

Style.ListTemplate Property (Word)

Hopefully it helps you.

Best Regards,

Lina

MSDN Community Support Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread.

• Edited by Lina-MSFT Friday, October 12, 2018 9:17 AM
    Friday, October 12, 2018 9:11 AM
  • Hi chcw,

ListTemplate is a property of Style, so it can't be a Variable type. You should delete this line 'Dim MyListTemplate As ListTemplate'.

Please use the code as below:

Sub getListTemplate()