AES 256 Encryption in Biztalk RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

Can someone please explain me how to do AES 256 encryption (for outbound files) in Biztalk ?  I am quite new to encryption stuff. What does AES 256 encryption really mean ? And what is required in Biztalk to achieve it ?

Are there public private keys required to be issued by someone ? Or they are generated locally ? If there are 10 different systems receiving different files , should there be 10 keys generated (or need to be issued ) ?

Will this encryption be done in Biztalk Send Pipeline (is it performance taxing ) ?

Thanks a lot for throwing light on this topic.

Regards

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 1:44 PM

Answers

• We need a bit more detail to give you accurate guidance.

AES encryption is a cipher for encrypting data, but arbitrarily encrypting data isn't usually how things are done.  Normally we would use a transport mechanism or wrapper that will provide encryption, e.g. HTTPS can be secured using various encryption suites.

If you really do want to just encrypt binary data and dump the result in a file, I think you'll have to do that in a custom pipeline component as the File Adapter doesn't provide native support for it.

Take a look at System.Security.Cryptography.AesManaged class for encrypting data yourself.

If this is helpful or answers your question - please mark accordingly.
    Because I get points for it which gives my life purpose (also, it helps other people find answers quickly)

• Marked as answer by NdBot Sunday, October 1, 2017 7:30 PM
    Wednesday, May 31, 2017 8:25 AM
  • Encryption when files are at rest...All this needs to be done using AES-256

So, first, sure, this is not an uncommon requirement, but...it seems this hasn't been fully considered by whoever is driving this request.  Meaning, they heard or read this was a good idea and are making the request without fully understanding what they're asking for.