none
How to insert a TOC info a Word doc via a macro RRS feed

• Question

• I want to write a macro to insert a TOC into a Word doc.  The Word doc contains some text "INSERT TOC HERE".  I want the macro to insert the TOC at that spot in the document (replacing the "INSERT TOC HERE" text).  I'm using Office 2010.

I'm a newbie at VBA and can't figure out how to do this.  Maybe some smart person on here can show me code that does it?  Doesn't sound difficult, but Microsoft help is utterly useless. 

Friday, September 6, 2013 10:14 PM

Answers

• Hi Sean

Try this to get going:

1. Select the INSERT TOC HERE text

2. Insert/Bookmarks, type in a meaningful name, click Add

3. Start the macro recorder

4. Insert/Bookmarks, select the Bookmark, GoTo

5. Insert the TOC of your choice

6. Stop the macro recorder

Now UNDO inserting the TOC and run your macro. Does that basically do what you're looking for?

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP, my blog

Saturday, September 7, 2013 8:34 AM

All replies

• Hi Sean

Try this to get going:

1. Select the INSERT TOC HERE text

2. Insert/Bookmarks, type in a meaningful name, click Add

3. Start the macro recorder

4. Insert/Bookmarks, select the Bookmark, GoTo

5. Insert the TOC of your choice

6. Stop the macro recorder

Now UNDO inserting the TOC and run your macro. Does that basically do what you're looking for?

Saturday, September 7, 2013 8:34 AM
  • Rather than a macro why not use the Insert TOC feature?

If using a macro, use that feature anyway and incorporate it in your macro. \

In Word, a Table of Contents is normally a TOC field. You could put that field in where you want to put "Insert TOC Here" and Word will create it on the fly.

How to create a table of contents in Microsoft Word

Why use Microsoft Word’s built-in heading styles?

Complex Documents

Charles Kenyon Madison, WI

Sunday, September 8, 2013 9:40 PM
  • Hi Cindy,