Math equation output RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys! I'm new to VB and also new to this forum. My first question is: is there any way to generate a report by VB codes to display  math equations like what we can do in Word by using Equation Editor? Thanks!
    Saturday, August 11, 2007 4:29 AM

Answers

• Hi Danie,

According to your specific requirement, I believe I find a good solution inside the following article.

Enable Your Users To Write Math Equations In Your Web And Desktop Apps

This article shows how to type mathematical equations in popular TeX format and render them as GIF images in your web and desktop applications by third-party component called MimeTeX Win32 DLL.

You can register and download source code and some demoes including that MimeTeX.dll, then look into one sample WinForms app in Eq2ImgWinForms folder. When I type sqrt(x^2+xy+y^2) in the textbox, the right math equalation will be rendered on the Picturebox control, and the Square Root mark can expand or shrink based on the length of the characters underneath.

You can use this code in three ways.

1. Use in desktop apps

This is pretty easy. You just need to DLLImport MimeTex.DLL and call CreateGifForEq function from your Win Forms app like this:

[System.Runtime.InteropServices.DllImport("MimeTex.dll")]
     internal static extern int CreateGifFromEq(string expr, string fileName);

2. Integrate with your own web apps 

Download the code, add the files in the folder named OnlyRequiredFiles (For VB.NET, look under the VB.NET Version folder) into your ASP.NET project and drop the MimeTex.DLL in bin folder. Edit your default.aspx page and put this line somewhere in Page_Load or Page_Init.

3. Use as a separate web app

Copy Eq2Img folder in your wwwroot. Create a virtual folder, make sure the CachedEqImages folder exists and ASP.NET user has write permissions for it, and default.aspx is configured as the default page.

Here are other references.