Issues with developing SDK for uwp apps RRS feed

• Question

• I am relatively new to Windows development and I am trying to develop a SDK targeting Win10 UWP apps.

I have already written the SDK in C# and it uses some 3rd party dependencies via NuGet package namely :

1. Newtonsoft JSON.

2. Sqlite.Net PCL

3. Sqlite.Net PCL Async

I initially packaged the SDK as a dll file only but if C++ and Javascript apps need to consume the SDK they would need a winmd file for the SDK (as far as i understand.)

Now, the issue is, the above mentioned nuget packages dont have winmd files or native compiled library which can be used in C++/javascript apps.

So how do I get/use the dependent packages in a way that a UWP app can use my SDK?

I made my SDK project to output a Windows Runtime Component i.e a winmd file. But how do I import the dependencies of my SDK in a Universal app?

I am stuck on this for days now, any help is really appreciated. 

Thank You!

Friday, August 19, 2016 11:08 AM

All replies

• Even if you have the PCL builds of all of these libraries, they need to be compiled as WinRT components. You'll need to check and see that Nuget has WinRT builds of all of the above libraries. If these are not forthcoming, you'll either need to use other libraries (there is a JSON library that comes with the PCL), or you'll need do the work to add a WinRT build yourself.

KeepMyIdentities, Your Key to Password Security. Available now on the Windows Store: http://apps.microsoft.com/webpdp/en-US/app/keepmyidentities/61a9f340-97ac-4666-beab-39f9246cb6fa

Friday, August 19, 2016 7:44 PM
  • Thanks for a quick reply.

That clears some misconceptions I had.

Can I create a  wrapper winmd build that exposes only my SDK apis and has references to the above dependencies internally?

For example :

SDK Project:

• Newtonsoft JSON.
    • Sqlite.Net PCL
    • Sqlite.Net PCL Async

Wrapper Project :

• Wrapper code for SDK project.