insert trigger failing -> this fails the original insert? RRS feed

• Question

• User154499744 posted

I'm new to triggers. I have an insert trigger defined on table1. This trigger writes certain data to table2. When the trigger fails, I am noticing that the original insert on table1 also fails. Is there a way to have the original insert still work even if the trigger fails?

Friday, September 9, 2016 1:00 PM

Answers

• User753101303 posted

AFTER is the same that is the INSERT happens and then the trigger (inside a single transaction). This is by opposition to INSTEAD OF that allows to replace entirely the insert statement with what you have done in the trigger.

According to https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms178110.aspx "The trigger and the statement that fires it are treated as a single transaction, which can be rolled back from within the trigger". My understanding is that you can roll back the insert from the trigger but you can't commit the INSERT if the trigger code fails.

The point is that the purpose of a trigger is to precisely ENSURE that something is done when an INSERT/UPDATE/DELETE is done. So I doubt you can ingnore an error that happens in a trigger. You are still allowed to test some condition to avoid running a statement that would fail.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Friday, September 9, 2016 6:32 PM

All replies

• User-2010311731 posted

Triggers are not executed until the original insert finishes (or fails).  I am guessing there is a problem with the insert to table1.  Could you post your error messages?

Friday, September 9, 2016 2:56 PM
  • User154499744 posted

This is the error message:

Msg 3609, Level 16, State 1, Line 2
    The transaction ended in the trigger. The batch has been aborted.

So, you're saying the insert on the table that has the trigger should work, regardless on the success of failure of the trigger(s) on that table?

Friday, September 9, 2016 3:26 PM