Calling another .asp file RRS feed

• Question

• I have created a global .asp file that contains global variables that could be used by many pages. As I am new to the world of .asp I do not know how to call this page from within another page (using the redirect command) and then have it return to the same point in the page that called it (or if that's even possible).

Another option would be to call the global page with a parameter and based on that parameter redirect to another page that will actually make use of the global variables. I am guessing that is what I will have to do if there is not another method.

Thanks.

• Moved by Mike Feng Monday, November 7, 2011 7:36 AM ASP (From:Visual Basic General)
    Thursday, November 3, 2011 3:43 PM

Answers

All replies

• Sorry, should have clarified. I am actually writing it in C# using Sharepoint designer.
    Thursday, November 3, 2011 6:55 PM
  • Hello,

I believe you're confusing global variables with session variables.

Global variable only have scope with the page.

Session variables have scope through the site while the session is active.

Adam

Already reported as abusive
    Thursday, November 3, 2011 6:58 PM
  • Andrew,

I believe you're confusing Global with Public but it's been a long day and I don't want to split hairs with you.

Adam

Thursday, November 3, 2011 7:26 PM
  • Andrew,

I believe you're confusing Global with Public but it's been a long day and I don't want to split hairs with you.

Adam

This is why your signature reads the way it does.  You're utterly clueless but you want to argue with somebody anyway, and more often than not you pick me for no apparent reason.