Proble with f8 key no longer works to step through your code RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone can someone enlighten me as to why my f8 key in debug mode no longer allows me to step through my code, something I have been doing for over 10 years.  I am using Windows 10

Thanks

Les

Thursday, October 15, 2020 9:38 PM

Answers

• In Visual Studio, usually <F10> (Step Over) and <F11> (Step Into) can be used.

<F8> and <Shift+F8> were used in VBA for Excel, Word, etc.

• Marked as answer by Les2011 Friday, October 16, 2020 8:16 PM
    Friday, October 16, 2020 5:12 AM

All replies

• Hi

f8 is still stepping through code here. Does your computer have 'special' functions toggled with the function keys - such as volume+  volume- brightness+ brightness-  etc - if so maybe the function key 'mode' needs to be toggled (on mine, I have a Fn key on the keyboard for this - it toggles between 'normal' and 'special'  when 'normal' mode is selected I can use all the function keys in VB edit etc.

Regards Les, Livingston, Scotland

Thursday, October 15, 2020 10:48 PM
  • In Visual Studio, usually <F10> (Step Over) and <F11> (Step Into) can be used.

<F8> and <Shift+F8> were used in VBA for Excel, Word, etc.

• Marked as answer by Les2011 Friday, October 16, 2020 8:16 PM
    Friday, October 16, 2020 5:12 AM
  • Hi Les,

No I have a very standard keyboard, in fact the same one I have been using for years.  The function keys are the std F1 to F12.

Les

Friday, October 16, 2020 5:56 AM
  • Hi Viorel,