Question about SQL server login vs database user RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using MS SQL server for several years and have been able to accomplish the things on the job that require SQL server.    However, I still do not truly understand the SQL server login vs database user.  I can give the proper definition of both terms, but that doesn't mean a really understand it.  A SQL server login allows access to the server and the database login allows access and gives permissions to a specific database.  I know that a user is mapped to a login.  But again, I don't see the it.  The light bulb is not on. When I need to setup a piece of client software that requires me to put in server, instance, and authentication information, I select SQL server authentication, and enter the login information for the sysadmin and it just works.  I never enter anything about a database user.

Can someone please explain this to me so that I can understand it?  Please don't point me to a Microsoft msdn or technet article.  I need something in laymans terms.  Just a couple of statements or maybe a paragraph.  thanks

Friday, March 1, 2013 9:57 PM

Answers

• A sysadmin possesses the magical and godlike power to connect to any database as dbo.

There are really two different ways you can access a resource. 

1) because you have been granted permission

2) because you own it

Owners don't need permissions.  A database is owned by the Login mapped to dbo.  An instance is owned by it's sysadmins.  A Windows instance is owned by its administrators.  And when you own a thing, you cannot be excluded from any part of it.  There is no way to keep a Windows Admin from gaining access to a SQL Server instance.  And there is no way to keep a sysadmin from gaining access to a Database.

Any non-sysadmin login would need to be mapped to a database user to access a database.

David

David http://blogs.msdn.com/b/dbrowne/

• Marked as answer by Poly Admin Tuesday, March 5, 2013 1:44 PM