Windows 8 "Desktop" is a non-starter for me as a user and developer

General discussion

• This zdnet article sums it up

http://www.extremetech.com/computing/96249-5-deal-breaking-flaws-in-windows-8

You should listen to them Microsoft.  Those 5 flaws make windows 8 a non-starter for me as a business application developer.  I am the developer that my organization turns to for leadership and advice on technology migration.  I have no intention of using much less recommending Windows 8 to my clients or customers.  In fact, unless all of those fundamental flaws with the windows 8 desktop are corrected, I will NEVER recommend windows 8.   Without those features,  windows just isnt windows.

I could care less about metro right now for a couple of reasons; first I am primarily a web developer so my main concerns are HTML5, CSS3, JavaScipt, ASP.NET MVC and the Entity Framework and second because none of the users at my enterprise will be using windows 8 anytime soon, most are still on XP.   Metro is slick and cool but it is no subsitute for Windows XP or Windows 7 on the desktop.

So, lets take a deep breath and not alienate your massive installed user base who have spent years using windows.  Stop trying to out-Apple Apple and be Microsoft.

Tuesday, October 11, 2011 3:36 PM

All replies

• I believe I saw somewhere where Microsoft may change things so you can actually close a Metro app.  But overall, I have to agree with the article.