none
Using OpenXML to generate Word doc with repeatable sections populated from SQL Server RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have never used Open XML before and I found out that it will be perfect for my requirement of creating a word doc (with repeatable data sections) populated from SQL Server. The word doc will be launched from my asp.net (c#) web page. Is there a step by step process that I should follow to achieve this?

Thanks!

Friday, January 11, 2013 4:33 AM

Answers

• Hi viperpr

As far as I know, there's no "cut-and-dried" step-by-step set of code for you what need. Although it's possible that someone has posted something like this on the Internet, somewhere...

The first place to get information on working with the Office Open XML file formats is OpenXMLDeveloper.org. You'll find introductory material there, forums and blogs that cover a wide range of technology.

The material on MSDN centers mainly around the Open XML SDK (the topic of this forum). There's also a library reference which has, among other things, a set of "How to" articles: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc850833.aspx

These would contain the basic information you need (how to write text to a Word document and how to generate tables in a Word document)...

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP, my blog

Saturday, January 12, 2013 4:29 PM

All replies

• Hi viperpr

As far as I know, there's no "cut-and-dried" step-by-step set of code for you what need. Although it's possible that someone has posted something like this on the Internet, somewhere...

The first place to get information on working with the Office Open XML file formats is OpenXMLDeveloper.org. You'll find introductory material there, forums and blogs that cover a wide range of technology.

The material on MSDN centers mainly around the Open XML SDK (the topic of this forum). There's also a library reference which has, among other things, a set of "How to" articles: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc850833.aspx