none
New to C# and need some help and guidance RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone.  I'm new to C# and I'm trying to figure out if the code below will work for the GetControlName routine and how I would go about coding the GetValueFromId routine.  This will be using the entity framework.  Any help and assistance would be appreciated.  Thanks.

public IEnumerable<Control> Controls { get; private set; }
            public override string GetControlName(string FieldName)
            {
                foreach(Control c in this.Controls)
                    if (c.Name == FieldName)
                    return c.Name;
                return null;

}
            public override string GetValueFromId(string ControlName, Guid? IdField)
            {
                throw new NotImplementedException("GetValueFromId");
            }

• Edited by mrbill65 Wednesday, October 10, 2018 1:22 PM
    Wednesday, October 10, 2018 1:21 PM

All replies

• The method would work, but it doesn't really do anything interesting either.  It is a fancy way of telling you if a control exists with that name, since the method will return string or null.  Was that the intent?

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 1:59 PM
  • Well, I think what is expected is to get the controls name based on an entity's field name.  For instance, using the field name of Account, grab the controls name where the field is being placed/held such as a textbox, txtAccount or combox, cboAccount, etc.  I thought it was a bit much, would something like this work as well?

if (FieldName != null)

{

return FieldName;

}

else

{

return null;

{

• Edited by mrbill65 Wednesday, October 10, 2018 2:28 PM
    Wednesday, October 10, 2018 2:25 PM
  • So given a set of controls you're trying to find the (first) one that has a name set to a particular field name? I would argue that you don't really need to do all this.