Localization of Exception-messages is harmful RRS feed

• Question

• FxCop 1.35 rule Microsoft.Globalization CA1303 "Do not pass literals as localized parameters." will, among other things, report problems with the 'message' string argument to all System.Exception-derived classes' constructors.

This is, IMHO, just plain wrong. I've been developing software in Sweden for over 25 years - and the lesson that I've learned again, and again, is that all information that is intended to be administrator- or developer-visible, not user-visible, should always be in english. This includes all error messages that are not displayed to users, naming in code, actual code etc.

One of the most frustrating experiences one can have as a system administrator running software is to have it spit out localized error messages. Why?

In one word: Search.

So you get this fine error message from your application, and you wonder what the reason for this can be?

You fire up the search engine of your choice, and you copy and paste the message and hit 'Search'. But - no joy, as it happens you're the first Swede to get this message. So what do you do? You try to back-translate it to english! (Which is often possible, because apparently they don't employ Nobel-prize-class translators to these texts - they're often silly to the point of being downright misleading or incorrect...) After much trouble you may, or may not, find the solution to your trouble - when it could have been so easy...

There are secondary arguments as well, but the main argument is to maximize the potential use of the message - for which localization is counter-productive.

[ Another horror story of misdirected localization is when Microsoft in the 90's decided to localize the keywords in Visual Basic for Applications in Excel, Word and Access (true! They did!), making just about all available documentation and community resources worthless, not to mention existing skills in similar environments. ]