Data binding doesn't update dataBASE from dataSET. RE : Walkthrough: Saving Data to a Database (Single Table) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, 

I am fairly new to VB.net although I have used VBA for a long time. 

The issue I am having is am trying to make use of data binding to tie my forms controls / gridviews directly to the data.

I have been following this tutorial (see below) , to the letter, and yet I cannot get the data to save back to the database. 

the walk through is "Walkthrough: Saving Data to a Database (Single Table)" found here

I set up the database connection, the dataset is created. all is going well. I run the application and the data loads from the database. but anything i add to the database via the bound forms will stay in memory as long as I don't close down visual studio, but once that is close and reopen (or I restart the machine) the data is lost. 

I am clicking on the floppy disk icon on the bound controls, and I can see the code below fires. and completes without error.

If is go to the data source and use the "Show Table data" i can see that the data I added is not there. 

Am I missing something fundamental from the code below? 

Try 
        Me.Validate()
        Me.CustomersBindingSource.EndEdit()
        Me.CustomersTableAdapter.Update(Me.NorthwindDataSet.Customers)
        MsgBox("Update successful")

Catch ex As Exception
        MsgBox("Update failed")
    End Try

I have tried adding things along the lines of

NorthwindDataSet.Acceptchanges()

, but that doesn't help at all. 

I know the solution must be trivial , but I cannot understand why this walk through doesn't work for me. 

I have a few versions of VS Express on my machine and SQL Management studio installed also, but I don't see how that would have any effect ? 

The code above runs flawlessly, there are no errors flagged, and I don't get any of the syntax errors (the blue squiggly lines i mean)