none
VBA Code Event RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have a form in Access 2007 connected to two datatables called "Staff" and "Documents"; there's a command button in this form.  The button starts a VBA event which loads a page in Internet Explorer.  The webpage contains a webform with two fields, these are called "trl" and "idc".

My database fields [Staff].[translate] are equivalent to trl on the Webpage, and [Documents].[Card Number] is equivalent to idc.  I have successfully tested the command button to open and then load the webform with example string values for trl and idc using the syntax:

Call IE.Document.GetElementByID("trl").SetAttribute("value", "Example")

However I would like to load the webform to replace "Example" with real values for [Staff].[translate] and [Documents].[Card Number], as displayed on the form for that unique recordset.  I would be grateful if somebody could point me in the right direction.  Obviously I'm a VBA novice and I'm having trouble finding the right instructions.  Kind Regards, Brandon

Friday, September 11, 2015 5:50 PM

Answers

• Hi. When trying to refer to values on the form when the code is executed by the same form, you can use the "Me" keyword as a reference to the current form. So, for example, you could try something like:

Call IE.Document.GetElementByID("trl").SetAttribute("value", Me.trl)

Assuming the control's name on your form is "trl."

Hope that helps...

Friday, September 11, 2015 6:06 PM
  • PS Since writing, I have edited my subform to include the field I required in the related table.  This allows the Me.XXX address to find the record as a work-around solution.  I would still be interested to see the correct syntax for addressing fields directly in the parent form, thanks

Hi Brandon,

When you are in a Subform, you can refer to the Main form using:     Me.Parent

From a Subform you can also refer to other Subforms using:    Me.Parent!<subformcontrol><control on subform>

Imb.