none
Open method of system.data.sqlclient sqlconnection not consistent RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hello all, I have a bit of a mystery with the open method of a sqlconnection object.  I am using VB2008 SP1 and the 3.5 SP1 .Net Framework.  I have two forms where I copy and pasted a section of code used to test connectivity that are giving me different results.  Basically, I have the startup form that loads and reads the database connection information from the registry and uses this code to test database connectivity.  I have a work around for this by adding a sqlcommand to select 1 and testing the connection that way but I am one of those people that like to know why things are the way they and would like to understand the behavior I am seeing.  I should also mention that in terms of VB and .Net programming I am a novice at best so try to overlook any obviously incorrect coding practices.

'This code block is from my main form, Main1.

Dim cn As New LoadRegistry 'Custom class to pull registry settings for my application

Dim frmSplash As New SplashScreen 'Yep, its a splash screen

frmSplash.Show()

frmSplash.Refresh()

cn.LoadDatabaseRegistry() 'Method that loads the database connection setting from the registry

repwiseConnectionString = cn.ConnectionString 'repwiseconnectionstring is a friend string variable from this form

Dim objConn As SqlConnection = New SqlConnection(repwiseConnectionString)

Try

Me.Cursor = Cursors.WaitCursor

objConn.Open()

objConn.Close()

Catch ex As Exception

MsgBox(ex.Message, MsgBoxStyle.Critical, "Error Connecting to SQL Server")

Finally

Me.Cursor = Cursors.Default

objConn.Dispose()

End Try