[LY Sales] function throws error when selecting periods in different years RRS feed

• Question

• I have created data model where I'm taking several sources of Point of Sale data (multiple retailers) and combing them using Power Pivot and a custom calendar. We get data retailer direct, which is mostly in weeks, and data from IRI which is in four week buckets. This does not allow me to use the date intelligence DAX functions. I'm brand new to DAX and my experience starts and ends with Excel. (Diagram view and link to file to come after account verification) 

The DAX code for calculating LY Sales is:

=
    CALCULATE (
        [Sales $],
        FILTER (
            ALL ( dCalendar ),
            dCalendar[IRIYearNumber]
                VALUES ( dCalendar[IRIYearNumber] ) - 1
                && CONTAINS (
                    VALUES ( dCalendar[PeriodNumber] ),
                    dCalendar[PeriodNumber], dCalendar[PeriodNumber]
                )
        )
    )

Code for [Sales $] used above:

=
    CALCULATE (
        SUM ( POS_IRI[Dollar Sales] )
            SUM ( POS_Retailer[SalesDollars] )
            SUM ( POS_Retailer2[SalesDollars] )
            SUM ( POS_Retailer3[SalesDollars] )
            SUM ( POS_Retailer4[SalesDollars] )
            SUM ( POS_Retailer5[SalesDollars] ),
        dProducts[Filter] = 1,
        dCustomers[Filter] = 1
    )

The filters are to prevent items not on the item table from showing on the report, and the customer filter is to prevent all the sales being rolled together as and extra line (with blank customer) on the report. 

The error happens when I select two periods that are in different years. When I select the 13 periods on 2014 all is well. But when I add a period from 2015 it throws the error below;

ERROR - CALCULATION ABORTED: Calculation error in measure 'dProducts'[LY Sales $]: A table of multiple values was supplied where a single value was expected. 

Thursday, May 21, 2015 7:46 PM

Answers

• Hi g.hardwick,