System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException when calling UpdateLayout()

Question

• I have an ItemsControl for which I set the ItemsSource property and attempt to access items using the VisualTreeHelper. Here is my code from my page's Loaded event:

Me.itmRecipients.ItemsSource = Me.Recipients.Select(Function(r, i) New With {.Name = r.Name, .Index = i})
    Me.itmRecipients.UpdateLayout()
    Dim selectedradiobutton As RadioButton = CType(VisualTreeHelper.GetChild(Me.itmRecipients.ContainerFromIndex(Me.SelectedRecipientIndex), 0), RadioButton)

The error occurs when I call UpdateLayout(), and I get the following:

System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
       at Windows.UI.Xaml.UIElement.UpdateLayout()
       at GiftTrackerUnivAppTest_Windows.MainPage.MainPage_Loaded(Object sender, RoutedEventArgs e)

I am calling UpdateLayout() so that I can use the VisualTreeHelper. Why am I receiving this error? Thanks.

Nathan Sokalski njsokalski@hotmail.com http://www.nathansokalski.com/

Tuesday, January 6, 2015 3:33 AM

All replies

• If you make that same call later in the page lifetime (perhaps in a button click event), does it have the same error? I am wondering if the layout hasn't yet completed.

Matt Small - Microsoft Escalation Engineer - Forum Moderator
    If my reply answers your question, please mark this post as answered.

NOTE: If I ask for code, please provide something that I can drop directly into a project and run (including XAML), or an actual application project. I'm trying to help a lot of people, so I don't have time to figure out weird snippets with undefined objects and unknown namespaces.

Tuesday, January 6, 2015 2:11 PM