none
Error Opening Designer File - Unspecified error (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004005 (E_FAIL)) in VS2015 Designer

Question

• Please bear with me as I am a pretty novice developer....

I have an application written in VB, that was started in 2010 with 4.0 Framework.  After getting a new laptop and downloading Visual Studio 2015.  I was able to open the solution, run it, and even open the designer files.  However, just a few days ago I went to open a particular windows form to work on layout and I got an error:  

Unspecified error (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004005 (E_FAIL)) in VS2015 Designer

Here is the call stack:

at System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal.ThrowExceptionForHRInternal(Int32 errorCode, IntPtr errorInfo)
    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.LanguageServices.Implementation.CodeModel.CodeTypeRef.LookupTypeSymbol()
    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.LanguageServices.Implementation.CodeModel.CodeTypeRef.get_TypeKind()
    at EnvDTE.CodeTypeRef.get_TypeKind()
    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Design.Serialization.CodeDom.VSCodeDomParser.GetUrtTypeFromVsType(CodeTypeRef vsType)
    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Design.Serialization.CodeDom.VSCodeDomParser.OnTypePopulateMembers(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.CodeDom.CodeTypeDeclaration.get_Members()
    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Design.Serialization.CodeDom.MergedCodeDomParser.CodeTypeDeclarationPopulator.OnPopulateMembers(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.ComponentModel.Design.Serialization.TypeCodeDomSerializer.Deserialize(IDesignerSerializationManager manager, CodeTypeDeclaration declaration)
    at System.ComponentModel.Design.Serialization.CodeDomDesignerLoader.PerformLoad(IDesignerSerializationManager manager)
    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Design.Serialization.CodeDom.VSCodeDomDesignerLoader.PerformLoad(IDesignerSerializationManager serializationManager)