ALL(DimensionTable) is cross applying everything RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm pretty new to DAX and I'm having an issue which is think is pretty basic for anyone with some DAX knowledge...

My model is pretty basic, I have a Fact table with 3 dimensions linked.  Only two tables are interesting right now for my problem and they are linked through a surrogate key:

- FactTrip
    - DimStop

In FactTrip, I have defined two measure:
    - Total In:=Sum('FactTrip'[PeopleIn])
    - Total Out:=Sum('FactTrip'[PeopleOut])

Ok, quite easy so far, isn't?

Now some business information.  I have many different trips that each have their own stop point.  I want to calculated what is the delta at the end of the trip.  It should be zero but for some reason, it is not always the case.  So I want this measure to be calculated for the whole trip and the result displayed with the same value if the user also drop the Stop #/Name on the pivot table.  So let's say that I have the following trip:

Trip    Stop     PeopleIn     PeopleOut    ExpectionDelta
    A        A1         5                    0                    2 
    A        A2         0                    2                    2
    A        A3         1                    2                    2
    B        B1         5                    0                    4
    B        B2         1                    2                    4

Now, I would like to create a Difference measure which would be something like:
    ExpectationDelta:=Calculate([Total In]-[Total Out],All('DimStop')

It actually works, but the data on the pivot end up showing all the possible Stop for every trip just because I drop on the pivot this new measure..

A        A1         5                    0                    2 
    A        A2         0                    2                    2
    A        A3         1                    2                    2
    A        B1                                                     2