none
Understanding Paddle Game Sample RRS feed

• Question

• Recently, I have been programming small games. One of the things I do to learn techniques and get ideas is look at samples. One of the samples I am currently studying is a paddle game. Below is the original code to the game. I understand everything here, except when it comes to changing the value of "deltaX". I understand that the game runs a loop and reads the conditions constantly. When the conditions are met the values of "deltaX" change. For example, "x" starts with the value of zero and "deltaX" starts with the value of one. Inside the loop, deltaX is add on to "x" so it creates the illusion that the ball is moving. When "x" is greater than or equal to gw-16 then it will change the value of "deltaX" to "-deltaX" which is -1. Now, the part I don't understand is how does the value of "deltaX" changes back to 1. I know that it returns to the value of positive one because the ball moves in the opposite direction. Also, I inputted several TextWindow.WriteLine() to see the value of deltaX and noticed that the value of one starts at positive one then negative. From there, it switches back and forth between  positive and negative. 

Dark blue background, paddle, & ball
    GraphicsWindow.BackgroundColor = "DarkBlue"
    paddle = Shapes.AddRectangle(120, 12)
    ball = Shapes.AddEllipse(16, 16)

GraphicsWindow.MouseMove = OnMouseMove 

x = 0 
    y = 0 
    deltaX = 1  
    deltaY = 1 

RunLoop: 
    x = x + deltaX 
    y = y + deltaY 

gw = GraphicsWindow.Width '624
    gh = GraphicsWindow.Height '441

If (x >= gw - 16 Or x <= 0) Then '16 rep. size of ball 
      deltaX = -deltaX 
    EndIf

If ( y <= 0) Then 
      deltaY = -deltaY
    EndIf 

padX = Shapes.GetLeft(paddle)
    If (y = gh - 28 And x >= padX And x <= padX + 120) Then '120 size of the paddle & 28 is distance between the paddle and bottom of screen
      deltaY = -deltaY
    EndIf 

'Movement of ball
    Shapes.Move(ball,x,y)