none
Did MSBuild make $(TargetName_OutDir) property? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all, 

I'm a new developer on Windows 10 with visual studio 2019 community. I have developed for my self a program run with my own libraries, all outputs will be put in the same directory. Few days ago, I went around GitHub open source projects try to have a look to build the way, and I saw the CPython project, the developers used $(py_OutDir) property in a python.props file to set the final outputs of the CPython project.

And I asked that Did MSBuild make $(TargetName_OutDir) property? If the answer is Yes, can someone tell me where I will get more information in the docs.microsoft.com/en-us/visualstudio/msbuild. As I had tried to get more information on the page, but I only got about the OutDir property.

Monday, August 12, 2019 3:27 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Lucky,

Welcome to the MSDN forum.

##And I asked that Did MSBuild make $(TargetName_OutDir) property? 

>>The MSBuild does make $(OutDir)$(TargetName) rather than $(TargetName_OutDir).

##If the answer is Yes, can someone tell me where I will get more information in the docs.microsoft.com/en-us/visualstudio/msbuild. As I had tried to get more information on the page, but I only got about the OutDir property.

>> l have found the document for you:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/cpp/build/reference/common-macros-for-build-commands-and-properties?view=vs-2019

This is a lot of common macros for MSBuild Properties. You can also find the information and test the instructions based on the current project in real time.

First, open VS and create a project based on c++---->Right-click the project-->Properties-->Linker-->General-->Output File--> select the text box --> choose edit-->click the Macros. Then you can see the effect as below:

It includes the whole macros and you can test the macros based on your project.

l hope it could help you.

Best Regards,

Perry