Editable Combobox in a datagridview RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a little new to this .net stuff so I'm sure this question will be pretty easy.

I'm trying to make a combobox editable in a datagridview.  Can anyone lead me down the right path?

thx
    Tuesday, November 22, 2005 7:07 AM

Answers

• What the code is doing is changing the combobox DropDownStyle to allow for the user to enter text while the combobox is in edit mode. Unfortunately, the standard DataGridView does not allow this to happen at Design-Time so you have to pull some tricks. When the field loses focus and the edit control is no longer available, the combobox reverts its style. Therefore, the validating event is being used to add values into the list of available values so that the items can still be displayed correctly.

I threw the code from that previous post into a test application and it performed as expected with some quick testing. I know it seems like a pain (because it is, there should be a better way to do this, but...), but I think it will get you where you want to be. Give it a shot.

Tuesday, November 22, 2005 8:26 PM

All replies

• If you right click the grid at design time and select Edit Columns, the Column Editor will appear. Select the column that you want to have appear as a combobox and change the ColumnType property to DataGridViewComboBoxColumn.
    Tuesday, November 22, 2005 1:38 PM
  • That's right, i've done that.  How do you make the combobox editable now?

Tuesday, November 22, 2005 5:18 PM
  • I think I'm misunderstanding what you mean by editable. Could you please explain further?
    Tuesday, November 22, 2005 7:14 PM
  • Took me a minute, but I think I know what you are wanting to do now. You want the user to be able to enter their own values in addition to those listed. Rather than repeating the solution, I'll just point you to another thread that answers your question:

http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=13855&SiteID=1