Can anyone give me a leg up? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm trying to learn Visual Basic using a couple of books. Where I'm struggling the most is with what I want to do.

Basically, all I want to try out is a simple lottery stat program - read the files, import it to a database, then do a simple frequency count. I'm sure it's really simple but when you're starting from scratch with the programming it's a mountain to climb and tbh, I'm getting nowhere.

The books have nice little examples of various things but to me they are pretty meaningless. Employee records and such simply don't seem that relevant so I thought I'd like to mess about to try to learn programming using something that is - a little lotto stats program. Which is where I am struggling since the database stuff is pretty advanced (for an absolute beginner) and reading csv files may as well be going to the moon!

What I want to do is read some of these csv's from the UK National Lotto site (Lotto and Euromillions):
    http://www.national-lottery.co.uk/player/files/Lotto.csv
    http://www.national-lottery.co.uk/player/files/EuroMillions.csv

I then want to place them into a database and do a stat count on each - y'know, frequency of each number type thing. That's it.

Can anyone help me out to help me kick off my Visual Basic programming please?

Thanks!
    • Edited by bbc_basic Friday, October 10, 2008 11:58 AM
    Friday, October 10, 2008 11:56 AM

Answers

• I think the best thing you should do is practically forget the stuff you learnt in bbc basic. I have a guy in my college class moving up from vb6 and he's trying to think the vb6 way and it simply doesnt work.

As for the code Ill comment the bits i know for sure:

Option Strict On  = Essential for anyday vb.net program. Basically says you have to do everything properly.

Module Module1 = Tells the compilar you are going to make a module called Module1