Some thoughts about WebMatrix and Visual Studio 2012 vs 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• User379720387 posted

I have been using WebMatrix for almost 3 years now, in active development. Without WebMatrix I would not have gotten this far.

My most recent configuration was WebMatrix on one screen, for the db. And Visual Studio 2013 on another for the debugger and intellisense. Problem with this configuration was that VS 2013 does not do much with a SQL CE database. I was therefore never in a position to move away from WebMatrix, as Microsoft indicates I should.

A new (to me) computer resulted in a reconsideration of the situation, and on a whim I installed VS2012 Ultimate because I had read somewhere that it is the last version that still supports SQL CE.

First of all VS2012 is an enormous eyesore, as you will be looking at mostly white screens. This was remediated by this: https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/366ad100-0003-4c9a-81a8-337d4e7ace05

But I am definitely impressed with the db functionality for SQL CE databases. Kind of difficult to explain but here it goes.

Open up server explorer and connect to your .sdf database.

Right click on the db name and select query,

Now a tab opens up with four panes, and it will ask you which table, then ....

first pane - graphical representation of the table

second pane - not sure how to describe it because there is nothing like this in WebMatrix. There is a row for each table row, then the columns allow you to enter an alias, sort type, filter and so on. When you do that, watch what happens in the third pane!

third pane - here the query is assembled from the choices you made in the first two panes

fourth pane - the query results

Now right click in the empty space in the first pane. Select Add Table. See how the query is updated with a JOIN (provided you had previously established the relationship between the two)?